Skip to content

Beauty in the Using

February 8, 2012

Washcloths 1

I have a thing for knitted washcloths.  As I mentioned last time, I think that part of the beauty of handmade things is how they are used, and in my book, the more used they are, the better.  I love the idea that someone (okay, in this case, me) spent hours to make something beautiful, with the intent that it be absorbed into the everyday activities of home: to cover someone at night, to keep feet warm, to scrub the day’s dishes.  Making the things that comprise the basic necessities of day-to-day life is, for me, an excellent reminder that the most humble dishrag comes from someplace, and provides a small dose of perspective on the endless consumption that is oh-so-tempting in an age of instant gratification.  Plus, handmade stuff is pretty.

The pretty part is the real motivation for this little stack of washcloths.  These were a birthday gift for my sister, who requested “a little purple love” for her bathroom.  Um, a year ago.  So delayed they may be, but they are finally done.  (The top two are linen stitch, and the bottom two are waffle stitch, for those who care about that sort of thing.)

Happy birthday, Kamala.  Use ’em up.  (Because the other beautiful thing about handmade stuff is that I can always make more.)
Washcloths 2

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2012 3:41 am

    Whah! They’re so cuuuute!
    I should buy some handmade stuff at our next farmers market…

    • Ashley permalink*
      February 12, 2012 11:19 pm

      Thank you! I love buying handmade stuff at the farmer’s market. Honestly, sometimes I have to put my blinders on and walk right by the handmade stands, because my farmer’s market budget wouldn’t cover all the grocery shopping otherwise!

Trackbacks

  1. A Knitter’s Guide to Commuting | Little House in the Big World

Leave a Reply

