Skip to content

Good Tidings

January 2, 2012

NYE 1

NYE 2

NYE 3

NYE 4

NYE 5

NYE 6

NYE 7

NYE 8

I usually have a tough time with New Year’s.  It marks the end of my favorite time of year, the return to the day-to-day, the end of eggnog.  Especially when the year just past was so full of goodness, I find it hard to bid it goodbye.  Leaving my tree up until January 6 takes the edge off a little bit, but New Year’s Eve usually finds me short on festive spirit.  This year, Chris and I spent New Year’s Eve at home, with just the two of us, a couple of funny dogs, a bottle of champagne, a handful of beers, a stack of games, and a fabulous Pandora station.  It was simple, happy, and just right.  In that spirit, I thought I’d share some things I’m looking forward to in this bright and shiny, brand new year.

:: Daylight is on its way back, but there are still lots of cozy dark evenings for burning candles before spring.

:: Tangerine season is only a few weeks away!

:: My little sister is moving much closer to where we live, to the town where Chris and I met and went to college.  I can’t wait to visit .

:: There’s a whole new year of seasonal changes and celebrations ahead.

:: I have a wonderful new toy (a Canon EOS Rebel T2i – a surprise Christmas gift from Chris!) with which to document the loveliness around me.

:: The end of this month brings a pie-themed potluck – and who doesn’t look forward to more pie?

:: Some of my favorite flowers are beginning to appear at the farmer’s market.  They’re so fragrant they make it easy to forget spring is still technically months away.

:: When the winter rains finally begin, the hills around us will magically turn the most beautiful shade of green.

:: In September, my cousin will marry his wonderful girlfriend (and they’re giving homemade jam as wedding favors!).

2012 is gong to be an excellent year.  I can feel it.

From our house to yours — Happy New Year.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 1:56 pm

    Whah! The holidays did go by really fast. I’d hate to get rid of my christmas tree 😦

Leave a Reply

