Skip to content

Harvest

September 14, 2011
tags: ,

I did it.  I grew my very own tomatoes.  Started from seed in February, babied along on the windowsill until May, and then largely ignored for most of the summer, my four plants produced their very first ripe tomato at the beginning of September.  I’m lucky that these particular plants have been especially low-maintenance, since as a first-time gardener I tend to be forgetful about things like watering.  The cucumbers were a casualty of that neglect – I harvested a couple back in July, but both were so bitter that they were completely inedible.  Turns out that’s what happens when cucumbers don’t get enough water.  Oops.

Eating your first homegrown tomato is a powerful drug – I’m already hooked, and planning what varieties I’ll try next year.  I’ll definitely grow more, since four plants are enough to keep me in tomatoes, but not enough for canning sauce.  But first, I have a fall garden to plan – kale, anyone?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2011 8:59 am

    Go for it! Kale is delicious and stands through winter really well. Good luck with the gardening and blogging

    • Ashley permalink*
      September 14, 2011 11:11 am

      Alright – kale it is. I do love the stuff!

  2. Erin permalink
    September 14, 2011 10:58 am

    Congrats!!! They’re beautiful!

    • Ashley permalink*
      September 14, 2011 11:12 am

      Thank you, Erin! I wish you were here to share them!

Leave a Reply

