Skip to content

Unplugged

August 10, 2011
tags:

There are a number of good things to be said about two weeks without the internet (namely that there’s much less temptation to zone out in front of a screen for hours on end), but those thing are a wee bit tainted when the online break is entirely unintentional.  After several weeks of battling AT&T to transfer our service to another company, we are (finally) up and running.

Hello, friends.  I’ve missed you.

While I’ve been away, we’ve been filling our days to the brim and beyond.  Work has been particularly demanding, but we’re doing our best to not let it get in the way of celebrating summer.  Since we spoke last, we have:

– taught a friend to can (pickles!  two kinds of jam!)

– taken a day trip for a family birthday party

– harvested our very first cucumber

– reconnected with college roommates after five years

– hosted my mom for a weekend and celebrated my grandma’s birthday

– lost the lovely Lily as a roommate and wished good wishes for her in her new place across the bay

– gained a fabulous new (but temporary) roommate

– planned our upcoming trip to Europe for a cousin’s wedding

While I’m very glad to be back here, the forced break did get me thinking.  I’ve been mulling over this idea for a while, and I think I’d like to give it a go.  I already try to limit my TV time, but going a bit further once a week appeals to me.  One day, each week, with no phone, no computer, no television.  Just quiet.  Oh, yes.

Care to join me?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole Blake permalink
    August 10, 2011 10:48 am

    Hi Ashley! This is Nicole from Hastings, your fellow 19th century girl living in a 21st century world. This site looks great. You harvested your own cucumber! that’s awesome!
    I’m tackling a loaf of Amish bread this weekend. My first time. I will be using modern technology affectionately known as the KitchenAid mixer though.

    • Ashley permalink*
      August 10, 2011 10:54 am

      Nicole! I’ve missed you! There just aren’t enough of us 19th-century folks out there – we need to stick together. 🙂
      Amish bread? Do tell! My roommate Lily took her KitchenAid when she moved out a few days ago; I’m still in deep mourning. Enjoy yours!
      I’m so glad you came by to visit – I’d love to visit in the non-virtual world, too.

  2. September 2, 2011 9:44 pm

    You’ll love the difference it makes! We just bought our homestead, and it is off grid (solar and generator) two miles past electricity and phone lines. Cell service is spotty, and we’ve never had a tv. (full disclosure: I watch shows on DVD and we plan to look into Internet. I’ve been told well be able to get it out there.)
    A couple of years ago we lived without any electricity at all for a year and it was an amazing experience.

    • Ashley permalink*
      September 8, 2011 7:27 am

      Wow, Jasmine – that sounds kind of wonderful! I love having the internet and cell service, but sometimes it’s really hard to ignore them when they’re an option. That’s one reason we don’t have television service. We have a TV, but it’s hooked up to a computer, so we can watch movies and things but don’t have the option to channel surf. I think that makes a big difference. I’d love to know more about what it’s like to live without electricity entirely – not that my partner in crime would go for that in a million years, but I’m very curious!

Leave a Reply

