Skip to content

Small Steps: Goodbye (and Good Riddance) to Plastic Wrap

July 18, 2011

I admit it – I’ve always kind of hated plastic wrap.  It clings to itself, it’s impossible to cut neatly off the roll, and it never stays where I put it.  Plus, you know, there’s that whole environmentally-unfriendly thing.  The stuff’s a menace.

So really, when I started looking for ways to reduce the disposable things in my life, plastic wrap was sort of an obvious choice.  At first, though, I wasn’t sure how to replace it; not everything fits well in a container, and besides – who has that much tupperware?

Enter wax paper.  I love the stuff.  I buy the “natural” kind sold at Whole Foods, which apparently doesn’t contain petroleum products (always a plus).  I use it for all sorts of things: cheeses, sandwiches, breads, leftover onion halves, you name it.  A big sheet of wax paper and a rubber band stays put, keeps stuff fresh, and I can rinse it and reuse it until it tears into bits – just try rinsing and reusing plastic wrap.  (Gone crazy yet?  I thought so.)  And when it finally bites the dust, it goes in the curbside compost bin.

If you’re wondering how the people with whom I share my kitchen feel about the lack of plastic wrap, well — I don’t actually know.  I just stopped buying it, and its absence hasn’t really come up.

And don’t those cheeses look rather fetching in their wax paper jackets?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2011 5:16 pm

    As one of the people who shares your kitchen, I agree it wasn’t a very noticeable transition.

  2. Robin I. permalink
    August 19, 2011 7:02 pm

    I’ve been thinkinf of giving up plastic wrap, too, and now you just made it sound so easy that I must do it. Love love love your blog. I always say it (even when you are not around, which is most of the time) – you are one amazing girl. xoxo

    • Ashley permalink*
      September 8, 2011 7:30 am

      Awww, thank you Robin! You are very sweet, and pretty amazing yourself. 🙂 Have you taken the no-plastic-wrap plunge yet? How’s it going? It really WAS very easy to give up. Don’t you just love when the environmentally responsible thing to do is so easy you hardly notice the transition?

Leave a Reply

