Skip to content

Small Steps: Finding Inspiration

July 11, 2011

Days like today are tough.  I came home last night from a (wonderful) weekend away to a splitting headache, a smelly kitchen, and no internet.  This morning, I’m tired, still fighting a headache, and cranky as a bear.  With no packed lunch, no meal plan for the upcoming week, and nothing resembling a positive attitude, I feel pretty far from my goal of a simple, cheerful life.  On days like today, I’ve got to have a battle plan.

Strategy One: Tea.  My office has a pretty fantastic selection of tea, so I’ll make a pot of Cream Earl Grey and drink it with milk and sugar in my favorite hand-thrown mug.  Tea is like a secret weapon for bad moods: it tackles the tired without an overload of caffeine, it’s hot and comforting on drizzly gray day like today, and it smells so good.

Strategy Two: Lavender.  Years ago, I bought a small glass vial necklace that I can fill with whatever I like.  I generally choose lavender oil, and though I wear it a lot, it’s especially useful on days like today.  The occasional whiff of lavender puts me, just for a moment, in a lovely, peaceful place far from my computer screen and busy office, and that’s enough to sooth some frazzled nerves.

Strategy Three: Music.  I have a playlist on my computer at work stocked with music that makes me happy.  Nothing too bright and sunny (that’s for Friday afternoons) – just some quietly cheerful music that reliably puts me in a good mood.  For me these days, that’s usually Dar Williams and The Wailin’ Jennys.

Strategy Four: Blogs.  There’s really nothing better than a quick visit to some favorite blogs to remind me of what’s important and that one bad day does not mean failure.  On days like today, I’ll check in with my favorites here and there, whenever I need a quick reminder that life is more than offices and smelly kitchens.  If you’re interested, you can find many of the blogs I read regularly in the “Blogs I Love” tab above.

You know what?  My tea is ready.  Happy Monday, everyone.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2011 1:47 pm

    You have just made my little problems disappear. Thanks.

    • Ashley permalink*
      July 15, 2011 1:05 pm

      Why thanks! I’m very glad to hear it.

Leave a Reply

