Skip to content

Herb Marinated Vegetables

July 7, 2011

I was a little slow to jump on the grilling bandwagon.  Which is not to say that I don’t love the smoky richness of grilled foods – rather, I was totally intimidated by the charcoal grill.  Once, while my dad was out of town, my stepmom and I tried to light the grill on our own; I think it’s possible that we set feminism back a few decades with our nervous squeals.  (Okay, my nervous squeals.  The nerves belonged to both of us – the squealing, just me.)  When as an adult I bought my own grill, I had so much trouble getting it lit that it mostly sat, rusting and unloved, on my apartment balcony.

When a friend showed me the (so far) foolproof technique of crisscrossing batons of rolled newspaper beneath the piled coals, I was off like a shot.  These days, my favorite way to spend warm evenings is sitting in the driveway (far from overhanging branches, thankyouverymuch), sipping something cold and tasty, and watching the (glowing!) coals.

As obnoxious as it may be to share a grilling recipe three days after the Fourth of July, I’m going to share one anyway.  Becuase the Bay Area has finally gotten a bit of summer weather, and grilled veggies with this marinade say, “summer” to me just as much as the scent of jasmine from the neighbors’ yard, sleeping with the windows open, and sweating pitchers of iced tea and lemonade.  This is my stepmom’s go-to summer recipe; it became mine, and maybe, just maybe, it will be yours, too.

I should note that while I sometimes measure out the ingredients, more often I pour approximate amounts into a bowl, add stuff until it tastes right, and proceed.  Try it a few times with the recipe, though – it needs more vinegar than you might think.  Also, feel free to adapt the herbs to what you have on hand – the original recipe calls for a blend of dry basil, oregano, marjoram, and rosemary, but I prefer to use a combination of the fresh herbs I have on hand and the dried herbs in my pantry.  Use what you have, but it would be a shame to skimp on the rosemary.


Herb Marinated Vegetables (adapted from Sunset Menus & Recipes for Vegetarian Cooking)

3/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup white wine vinegar

2 cloves garlic, minced or pressed

1 tsp. Dijon mustard

1 tsp each minced fresh rosemary and thyme

1/2 tsp dried oregano

1/4 tsp black pepper

salt, to taste

– Whisk all ingredients in a bowl until well blended

– Toss with vegetables: I like to use 5 or 6 red potatoes, boiled until just tender and cut into 1-inch cubes; several zucchini, cut crosswise into 1-inch slices; 2 onions, cut into wedges with the layers separated; and 1/2-3/4 lb cremini or button mushrooms.  (Err on the side of too many mushrooms.  They’re everyone’s favorite.)

– Marinate either in a bowl, tossing occasionally to coat evenly, or in a sealed freezer bag, turning periodically.

– After a while (half an hour/several hours/maybe even overnight – any amount of time will do, but I like somewhere in the realm of 2 hours), skewer your veggies or find a grill basket and cook, turning frequently, over the coals.

– Eat straight off the grill, grinning proudly.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2011 5:53 pm

    I can personally vouch for the delicousness of this recipe. Nom nom!

    • Ashley permalink*
      July 15, 2011 1:06 pm

      Thanks, Lil! I subject you to it often enough that I’m thrilled you’re a fan. 🙂

  2. Erin permalink
    September 14, 2011 11:09 am

    I miss coming home to find you sitting on the driveway grilling! Your grilled veggies were always so damn tasty – I’ve gotta make up some of those… Come visit me!!!

    • Ashley permalink*
      September 14, 2011 11:13 am

      I miss that, too – you are an excellent person to share grilled veggies with. I would LOVE to come visit – maybe this fall?

Trackbacks

  1. A (Summer) List « Life of a Little Woman
  2. A Week in My Kitchen: October 28 « Life of a Little Woman

Leave a Reply

