Skip to content

Eight Pounds of Joy

June 28, 2011
tags:

Guess who has a new nephew?

Photo courtesy of my dad

This little guy was ten days late to the party, but we’re all thrilled that he finally decided to join us.  Jitari (this little one’s older brother) might be the most thrilled of all — well, thrilled and a little bit hesitant.  He’s taking every opportunity to say, “my baby brother,” as in, “I want to show my baby brother,” or, “We’re taking my baby brother for a walk,” or, “I’m going to teach my baby brother how to pet the cat.”  On the other hand, speaking as an elder sibling myself, I’m pretty sure he has no idea just how much his world is about to change.

In the meantime, though, things seem pretty peaceful at my sister’s home – both mama and baby are doing splendidly (their doctor called them “overachievers,” which, though she w0n’t think so, is my sister to the core), and tiny Kanaan just might be the calmest newborn ever.

For my part, I can’t even begin to say how glad I am that I was able to spend so much time with my sister’s family as they grew by one tiny member.  Though he arrived behind schedule, I was able to work remotely for a couple of days.  Technically, it’s business as usual for me now – I’m physically present in my creaky desk chair, but secretly I’m still high on newborn baby love and kindergarten giggles.

Congratulations, Kamala, Bodhi, and Jitari.  You guys deserve every kind of joy.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2011 1:51 pm

    Oh my, he is too perfect. What a lovely post.

  2. Ashley permalink*
    July 6, 2011 10:40 pm

    Thanks, Lil. He’s pretty darn cute.

Trackbacks

  1. A (Summer) List « Life of a Little Woman

Leave a Reply

