Skip to content

Small Steps: Letting Go of Perfect

June 27, 2011

My first tomato seedlings. Quite a small step, but it feels like such a leap.

I am not really a perfectionist.  Really.  Not all the time, anyway.  About most things, I’ve got a pretty strong sense of “good enough.”  My car only gets a bath when it’s raining; my clothes tend toward the sloppy comfortable, and I love a haphazard, thrown-together meal, burnt edges and all.

But there are some things that tend to get me a little… worked up.  A little bit take-no-prisoners, my-way-or-the-highway.  I imagine that most people are like that about some things, about things that are important to them.  And my — things, I guess I’ll call them — they’re important to me.  I think things like cooking from scratch, knowing where my food comes from, and line-drying the laundry are important.

The trouble starts when I haven’t washed the sheets for three weeks because the weather is too wet for line-drying, or when I end up buying a bagel for breakfast because I haven’t had time to make yogurt and I refuse to buy it at the store.

There are a lot of things like that along the road to the kind of life I dream of – things I wish I could do, things I plan to do and never get around to, and things I do pretty regularly, give or take the odd bagel or two.  There’s joy, and guilt, and ambition, and frustration, and (let’s be honest) stubbornness attached to all of those things.

So Small Steps will be a semi-regular feature here, to serve partly as a reminder to take myself less seriously, partly as proof that small changes add up to big differences, and partly (Maybe?  Hopefully.) to serve as a little inspiration to anyone else looking to take some small steps of their own.  Look for Small Steps on Mondays – a good day, I think, for gentle reminders.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Connie Frink permalink
    July 1, 2011 3:21 pm

    That was great…I will be watching and looking forward to those small steps.

Leave a Reply

