Skip to content

A (Summer) List

June 14, 2011
tags: ,

photo from the Boonville Beer Festival - a good time if ever there was

Chris, Ginsburg and I arrived home Sunday night from a long weekend of camping dirty, mosquito-bitten, and thoroughly tired.  I was too busy playing board games and knitting by the campfire to take many pictures, but I did have ample opportunity to dream up some fabulous plans for the upcoming summer.  So, in honor of this week’s weather forecast finally breaking 70 degrees, I present:

A (Summer) List.

dance in a German castle at my cousin’s wedding in August | hold my (soon to be!) newborn nephew and have Important Conversations with his older brother | eat a panzanella made with homegrown tomatoes, homegrown cucumbers, and homebaked bread | lay in a hammock. frequently. | attend the Pear Fair! | eat popsicles frozen in tall shot glasses | become a regular at the summer concerts in the park | take Ginsburg to the beach | make sweet tea | barbeque. whenever possible. | learn a song on the guitar and play it at a bonfire | sew my first skirt | hike. a lot. | spend more time with friends and less time alone | go backpacking | throw a party | brew ginger beer | go berry-picking | eat LOTS of grilled corn | sleep with the windows wide open | go to a Giants game | see the San Francisco Mime Troupe | picnic

I’m looking forward to filling summer’s long daylight hours with the things on my list, and I promise to update you as I check things off.  (Fingers crossed, #2 will happen this week.  At least, for my sister’s sake, I hope so! )

Happy summer, everyone.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynn permalink
    June 14, 2011 12:46 pm

    Your list SO resonates for me! (Except sew a first skirt — that was years and years ago!)

  2. Ashley permalink*
    June 15, 2011 8:48 am

    Lynn, I should add something to my list – do you remember that we’ve talked about a mother-daughter wine tasting trip for years? Now that Lily’s back in California, I think we’re out of excuses. So I’m adding wine tasting with you and Jess, Barbera and Lily, and my mom – watch out, Napa!

  3. Viggy permalink
    June 15, 2011 3:33 pm

    And what a trip! Happy Summer Ash!

    • Ashley permalink*
      July 6, 2011 10:41 pm

      Thanks, Viggy! You too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

