Skip to content

Mason Jar Baked Eggs

June 2, 2011
tags:

Last week was a little brutal.  A short deadline out of left field and a couple of serious and unexpected hurdles that left most of my office reeling meant that I ate most of last week’s meals either (a) not at all, (b) from a takeout container straight out of the fridge at 9 p.m., or (c) quickly, between meetings and phone calls, without much caring what was going into my mouth.  I’ve been a bit lax with my normal meal planning routine lately, so there wasn’t much in the fridge that didn’t require either effort or creativity, both of which were in short supply.  By the end of the week, I was thoroughly sick of restaurant food.

On Monday (oh blessed three-day weekend), I decided that a tough week wouldn’t catch me off guard again.  I find that breakfast is a particularly tricky meal to make in advance, as I don’t fare especially well on higher-sugar meals like oatmeal and cereal.  (Both of which I love.  But my blood sugar sets the rules: protein in the morning!)  My fridge was full of farmer’s market bounty (fresh peas, asparagus, strawberries, cherries, arugula – mmmm), some of which I turned into these mason jar baked eggs, adapted from Marisa at Food in  Jars.

My adaptations were slight, so I’ll send you to the original for the bulk of the recipe.  I used butter and shallots instead of Marisa’s olive oil and onions, which I think adds just the right amount of richness.  I can’t wait to try these with thin slices of tomato and a nice dollop of melty cream cheese, and Marisa offers a number of other variations.  I think that’s the beauty of recipe like this – it’s perfect for all of those “clean out the refrigerator” impulses.  (Am I the only one who has those?)

Though I usually prefer to have a more quiet breakfast at my own kitchen table, I’ve been so happy to have a grab-and-go breakfast that doesn’t send my blood sugar into a tizzy.  This recipe will definitely be a regular on my busy week make-ahead list, and I’m sure will make the occasional appearance at my weekend breakfast table, too.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2011 10:35 am

    This looks fantastic! One (possibly dumb) question–do you just heat the jar in the microwave before eating?

    • Ashley permalink*
      June 2, 2011 11:00 am

      Yes, but watch how long it’s in there – about a minute seems to be enough to make it super hot. Marisa offers suggestions on reheating in the oven here: http://bit.ly/k7KrYy. I hope you like it!

Trackbacks

  1. What’s for Breakfast « Life of a Little Woman

Leave a Reply

