Skip to content

Woolgathering

May 24, 2011
tags:

Well.  That was a long and unintended silence.  That last month was… lots of things – good, hard, and more than a little exhausting.  I know I’ve missed my little corner of the internet.  I’ve been thinking a bit about writing here – why I do it, what I want to say, what I want this space to be.  Navel gazing, if you will.  Some of those thoughts have germinated, so you might notice some changes here and there.

Mostly, I think I’d like for this blog to be less distant from some of the more mundane realities of my life.  I tend toward escapsim in my off-work hours, and when I come here, I get to pretend that things like long work hours and an impressive load of student debt don’t exist.  But they do, and talking only about knitting and baking and the first appearance of spring doesn’t change that. (But oh, if wishing made it so…)

I have an idea about what I’d like my life to look like, and reading blogs has been a big part of helping that idea take shape.  I’ve noticed, though, that there aren’t a lot of people like me writing those blogs.  So many of the blogs that I love and look to regularly for inspiration are written by people who are lucky (and hardworking!) enough to make their lives at home through self-employment or child-rearing.  But what about those for whom, like me, staying home is not an option?  Those of us who don’t yet have children, or for whom a full-time out-of-home job is an economic necessity?  So that’s what I’d like to write about, I think – what it looks like to build an old-fashioned, home-centered life with a full-time job, a long commute, and a rental with (almost – more on that soon) no space for a garden.  Thanks for coming along for the ride.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2011 11:52 pm

    I’m a “I have to work out of economic necessity” new mom who just started blogging to share my attempt to have a slightly old fashioned, simpler life trying to work around things like student loans and full time jobs. Personally I like to think of myself as a stay at home Mom who has one of those pay-the-bills jobs, when I get to be home I try and focus on doing the things I would if I got to stay at home all day – lots of homemade things and food, gardening and family centered time, even if it means being quite the homebody for now.

    • Ashley permalink*
      July 6, 2011 10:44 pm

      Molly, I love your approach. It sounds just perfect, and I’m going to try adopting it. Sometimes a bit of a mental shift is all that I really need. Thanks!

  2. May 25, 2011 1:00 am

    On the subject of gardens in small spaces, check this out: http://lifeonthebalcony.com/how-to-turn-a-pallet-into-a-garden/

    It looks so cool! I’m thinking about doing it on my balcony, though Andrew would rather just get some wine barrels to plant in.

    Looking forward to reading more from you soon!

    • Ashley permalink*
      July 6, 2011 10:45 pm

      Thanks for the idea, Kara! I like the wine barrels too, but sheesh – they’re expensive! But if he’s set on the wine barrels, who says you can’t do both? 😉

  3. May 25, 2011 1:26 pm

    Looking forward to the change! I am a working (outside of the home) mom, but like you were discussing, I like to use my blog to step out of my work life a bit, so my posts are often baby-centric. I have debated walking the line a little more, but am not sure how exactly to do it. Do you read lagliv.blogspot.com? She is again a mom, but does a lot of lawyer-life blogging as well.

    • Ashley permalink*
      July 6, 2011 10:47 pm

      I don’t read ladliv.blogspot.com, but I’ll check it out – thanks for the recommendation! As much as I don’t wish my struggles on other people, it is nice to know that I’m not the only one who has trouble walking that line.

  4. Ashley permalink*
    July 6, 2011 10:47 pm

    My apologies for the awful delay in my response to the comments on this post! I’m not sure what happened there… Thank you all for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

