Skip to content

Deep Breath

April 7, 2011
tags:

It’s been quite a week around here (seriously – I missed Knit Night.  You KNOW I’m busy if I missed Knit Night.), and my head is a-spinning.  I haven’t much in the way of crafty progress or homemade goodness to share, so instead I’d like to take pause, take a deep breath, and remember a few of the moments that make even a week like this one special.

{ a whirlwind trip to Yosemite, and 6 hours of car-ride conversation with my dad }

{ a new book about urban homesteading, which I’m reading, oddly enough, on my Kindle }

{ a long drive with a favorite audiobook for company }

{ a walk in the sunshine, complete with ice cream and a trip to my favorite used bookstore, with people who aren’t family but might as well be }

{ a final puppy training class, with a graduating puppy – who turned one year old last weekend }

{ plugging away at my sweater, and realizing that ripping back isn’t upsetting, because the fixing is easy }

{ a lovely and long conversation with my mom on her birthday }

{ strawberries and pistachios for a workday snack — twice }

I wish you moments of peace and happiness, even in the busiest and hardest weeks.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink
    April 9, 2011 6:06 pm

    Congratulations and happy birthday to your puppy! I really liked the urban homesteading book you are reading. That was my final push to getting our composting worms also know as Mudwiggle =). Have you read Made from Scratch: Discovering the Pleasures of a Handmade Life by Jenna Woginrich? I liked it, all expect the part she eats some of her animals. she has a blog I have not looked at in a long time http://coldantlerfarm.blogspot.com/. I also enjoyed most of Farm City: The Education of an Urban Farmer [Hardcover] Novella Carpenter. Her blog is http://ghosttownfarm.wordpress.com/ and her farm is in Oakland, CA. She also eats some of her animals and was a little too graphic about it at time so I had to skim some of her book.

  2. Ashley permalink*
    April 11, 2011 7:26 pm

    Jenny, thank you for the book recommendations! I haven’t heard of either of the two you mentioned, but I will put them on my wish list immediately. I’m plowing through the one I’m reading now, and I was so hoping there was more good info out there. I figured, considering all of the awesome homesteading blogs around, that there must be, but it’s nice to know where to look first.

    Have you read Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, by Barbara Kingsolver? If you haven’t, I can’t recommend it highly enough. I’m not exaggerating when I say it changed the way I live my life. I think you’d also love Handmade Home, by Amanda Blake Soule – it’s technically a craft book, but it’s also a guide to thrifting and turning free and vintage treasures into useful household things.

    I’d love to get a little worm farm set up, but I’m a bit nervous. Are they hard to take care of? And how are your pets around the worms? It’s not so much an issue now, but I’d be a little worried that Ginsburg would try to eat them.

    • Jenny permalink
      April 12, 2011 7:17 pm

      I have read Animal Vegetable Mineral and enjoyed it too. I will have to check out Handmade Home it sounds great. I read so many homesteading books last year I wish I made a list of them all. I read a lot about chicken farming which I am so sad we can not have chickens yet and keeping bees which we could do but still scares me a little. The thought of harvesting sticky honey sounds messy but it would be so good. I can e-mail you a list of other homesteading books if you would like.

      The worms are easy to take care of. I just have them in a large rubber storage container that I drilled holes in like in the book your reading. It is going to be a project to separate them from the dirt they have made (since I only made mine with one bucket) but I think I have a few months before that becomes a problem and I have had them since September. I got them free from someone on Craigslist that instead of harvesting the dirt she just gave some of it away worms and all. It took a while for the population to get large enough to deal with all of our food scraps. If you lived closer I would give you some to start yours. I have them in a shady spot and no animals have tried to brake into them. Ellary is always on a leash (since our patio is not private) but I do not think he could find a way into the bucket. I could imagine him wanting to stick his head in and try to eat the food and worms if he had a chance though. Worms Eat My Garbage by Mary Appelhof is a fun quick read that explains in more detail how to raise them. The worm bin does get nats so I do not think I would want it in my house but lots of people have their under their kitchen sink.

Leave a Reply

