Skip to content

Addicted

March 29, 2011
tags:

I am a sock knitter.  A glove knitter.  A dainty lace shawl knitter.  Aside from the occasional tablecloth, I am a knitter of Small Things.  I have made a grand total of two successful sweaters, both for the pre-kindergarten set.

I tried a me-sweater once, as a (relatively) new knitter, and it did not go well.  At all.  My first troubles came when my yarn overs disappeared into my purl rows.  It was my first lace project, and it took three books, several hours of knittinghelp.com videos, and the very friendly staff at the local yarn shop to figure out that I was habitually twisting my purl stitches, which turned each yarn over into an invisible “make one” increase.  Once I relearned how to purl (that should have been my first clue that I was in over my head), I knitted my way through most of the sweater pieces before the first year of law school ate all of my free time.  A year or so later, determined to finish the thing, I knit up a couple of sleeves, carefully measured each piece, and sewed the seams.  And abruptly discovered that somehow, between blocking and seaming, the top of the back piece had grown five inches and no longer fit into the sleeves.  There was no way to fix it, short of un-seaming the whole sweater, frogging the back, and figuring out what in the sam hill had gone wrong.  So I very maturely shoved stuffed put it out of sight in the depths of my stash, said a few choice words, and found a friendly sock to cast on.

But a few years and many socks later, I started hearing whispers.  Whispers of pretty, perfectly-fitted sweaters.  So many of my favorite bloggers made such beautiful sweaters, and they seemed to do it so effortlessly.  My own roommate (who first taught me to knit – and, incidentally, to twist my purl stitches) turns out a couple of sweaters a year, with lovely results and remarkably little swearing.  I figured that my knitting skills in the non-sweater arena are relatively established, so maybe it’s time to branch out.  (And really – after that tablecloth, what can’t I knit?)

Ladies and gentlemen, I’m hooked.

One (very busy) week post-cast on, I’m 1 1/2 sleeves short of my first successful adult-sized sweater.  And I’ve already planned my next five projects: the Tangled Yoke Cardigan, Talamh, the Flutter Sleeve Cardigan, Tea Leaves, and Common Ground.  Yarn.com is having a spring sale, and I’m blowing the season’s yarn budget (and clothes budget, and possibly food budget) on sweater yarn.  Who’s with me?

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 9:47 am

    “I’m 1 1/2 sleeves short of my first successful adult-sized sweater.”

    Knock on wood IMMEDIATELY!!

    This has been a public service announcement.

Leave a Reply

