Skip to content

Morning Rhythm

February 16, 2011
tags: ,

The alarm goes off, but I’m already drifting awake.  Downstairs, I can hear Chris heading out the door to work.  I think for a minute about hitting snooze, but the dog starts to whine and I know she needs to go outside.  I crawl reluctantly out of bed, rub my eyes hard, and pad down the stairs in my knitted wool socks.  It’s five minutes to 6 in the morning.

I stand in the kitchen, staring groggily at the cold tile floor, waiting for the kettle to boil.  I pour the water into the waiting tea cup, set the timer for three minutes, and rummage in the fridge for the jar of yogurt.  Yogurt, granola, honey, layered in a bowl.  A scratch at the door says that the dog wants to come in.  She yawns and stretches her way across the threshold, and we have a quick cuddle before the tea timer rings.

I sit at the table, enjoying the quiet and the hot cup of tea in my hands.  I eat breakfast slowly, doing my best through the sleepiness to be mindful of each bite – tangy, creamy, sweet, salty, crunchy, chewy.  Bowl empty, I sit quietly, sipping my tea, thinking about the day ahead.

Then the puppy’s tail starts to thump on the floor, and I hear Lily’s footsteps in the hall, making a beeline for the coffee.  We chat, plan lunches and our commute, and the silence disappears.  The day begins.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2011 7:19 am

    That sounds so peaceful!

    • Ashley permalink*
      February 25, 2011 10:18 am

      It definitely helps get my day off on the right foot. Much better than my old approach – sleep until the absolute last minute, fly around the house dropping and forgetting things, and run out the door with wet hair cramming down a piece of peanut butter toast. 🙂

Leave a Reply

