Skip to content

Perfectly Pleasant

February 15, 2011

I love tea.  I drink a lot of it.  My tea, sorted into boxes by kind (caffeinated and not), takes up most of a shelf in the pantry.  Most mornings, I drink a cup of black tea with my breakfast; many evenings, a cup of herbal tea before bed.  (Plus a cup or two of various sorts during the day at the office, but let’s not go there.)  I drink mostly loose tea, so some kind of steeping apparatus is pretty essential.  I’ve been through way more than my fair share – mesh balls, cutesy stainless steel hearts, you name it, I’ve tried it.  And probably rejected it.  I’m really not a snob about these things; it’s just that for one reason or another, my tea leaves always end up escaping into my cup.  And really, a mouthful of soggy chamomile isn’t especially pleasant.  I love my teapots, but at least on weekdays I just don’t want that much tea.

For the last several months, I’ve been using disposable paper tea bags, the kind you buy empty to fill with your own loose tea.  These mostly work fine, but they are definitely un-cheap, and it bothers me that they just go to waste after three minutes of steeping.  I’ve been meaning to make some fabric tea bags for quite some time, and last week I finally churned out a set of five of the pretty little things.  I followed this tutorial, used lightweight cotton I found at a rummage sale and a little bit of kitchen string, and added about an hour’s work.  They were incredibly easy to make, and make me kind of ridiculously happy every time I use them.  And use them, I do.  I’m happy to report that they keep both Earl Grey and chamomile perfectly contained, for a perfectly pleasant cup of tea.

Mmmmmmmm.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 5:49 pm

    What a fabulous idea! And I think I have the very same vintage fabric somewhere in my stash…

  2. Ashley permalink*
    February 15, 2011 6:11 pm

    How funny! I had planned to make these out of plain ol’ muslin, with some bright thread for contrast, but when I unearthed this fabric I just had to use it. I think it’s so cheerful!

  3. Kymberly permalink
    February 16, 2011 10:51 am

    Wow, I love these. Such a lovely print, too. I was about to buy to bags in bulk from Amzon but now I think I’ll try these.

    • Ashley permalink*
      February 16, 2011 11:03 am

      Thank you! Absolutely give these a try before trying Amazon – I’m just a beginner at sewing, and they weren’t at all difficult or time-consuming. They’d probably be really easy to handstitch, too, if you wanted to go that direction. And if I remember right, when I googled “fabric tea bag tutorial,” there were lots of different options. Happy stitching!

  4. February 18, 2011 7:22 am

    Those are so adorable! I definitely need to make some of those!

    • Ashley permalink*
      February 25, 2011 10:20 am

      Thanks! I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

  5. April 16, 2011 4:24 pm

    I have to say WOW and a great big YES!!! I ave been toying with the idea of making a pretty lil teabag for myself but haven’t yet. Those strainers always make me think they really want to work. Yours are so lovely and tantalizing that I have to say I’m gonna try it- soon too! Thanks

    • Ashley permalink*
      April 16, 2011 6:06 pm

      Why thank you! It really was remarkably easy, and I’m sure you could do it almost as quickly by hand if you don’t have a sewing machine. And they use so little fabric that they’re practically free to make. I hope you love yours!

Leave a Reply

