Skip to content

Pretty Project Bags

February 9, 2011

I’ve used Ziplock bags for carting my knitting around for as long as I’ve been knitting.  And really, they’ve been fine.  Mostly.  But inevitably, sooner or later (usually sooner in my case, considering how I stuff my knitting into my various bags), they fall apart – needles poke one-too-many holes in the plastic, the zip-top tears off, or a too-big project rips the plastic right down the seam.  Besides which, they’re plastic and disposable, and I do try to minimize that stuff when it’s possible.  Of course, it didn’t take long for it to occur to me that I could make project bags.  And with some sturdy, soft muslin, cotton cooking string, and fabric paint in pretty colors, I did.

I used the long-suffering gallon-sized Ziplock as a guide for size, and then added an extra inch or two all around.  I glanced through these tutorials and went to town.  I had intended only to make a couple as holiday gifts for my two closest friends (both knittters – gotta love ’em), but I may have gotten a wee bit (errrr… a lot) carried away.  I made a whole stack over a day or two, enough for a set for each of my friends and several left over for me.

One of the best parts of making these was finally having an excuse to try out freezer paper stencils.  I used this tutorial, and traced images I thought the recipients would like.  The “Keep Calm and Carry Yarn” rendition is thanks to the framed poster that hangs in Lily’s room.  When I googled the phrase, thinking I’d like to make a bag to match the poster, the altered and oh-so-much better version popped up.

A couple of these have been in regular rotation since the holidays, and I’m very pleased (and not a little bit proud) to say that they’ve held up very well.  The inevitable needle holes seem to disappear quickly, and the knitting stays clean and protected inside.  The tiny bit of extra roominess helps too, I think.

As you can see, I’ve still got some stenciling to do on my own bags, but have been waiting for inspiration to strike.  I’m thinking maybe some brilliant red poppies are just the thing.  Mmmmm, yes.  Just right.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 12:07 pm

    Freezer paper stenciling is just so much fun, isn’t it?!

  2. Ashley permalink*
    February 15, 2011 12:42 pm

    It SO is. Completely addictive. I had a really hard time finding freezer paper (No luck at craft or grocery stores, but the hardware store carries it.), but it was totally worth the wait. I’m always worried that something will have gone wrong, and then the paper peels off and it’s just how I pictured it! Thrilling. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. A Knitter’s Guide to Commuting | Little House in the Big World

Leave a Reply

