Skip to content

A Corner for Sewing

February 1, 2011
tags: ,

Months ago, I carved out a small corner of the bedroom for sewing, outfitting it with whatever I could poach from elsewhere in the house.  At the time, the only portable horizontal surface not already in constant use was a small laptop stand on wheels, which Chris had (very sweetly) bought for my occasional work-at-home days.  So I snagged it, and wedged it between a bookcase and a cedar chest in what I had designated my “sewing corner.”

The sewing corner was a bit lacking, with no lamp light, a too-short table that couldn’t solidly support the weight of a sewing machine, no room for cutting or really even writing on the table top, and no storage for sewing notions.  Still, I forged ahead in my usual manner, and got along reasonably well for nearly 9 months.  With no budget for improvement, and a most unhelpful “free” section of the local Craigslist posting, I didn’t have much of an option.  But then!  Oh!  Then Chris gave me an Ikea gift card for my birthday, and I started to dream.

I emptied the bookshelf, and made it a new home downstairs.  I moved a floor lamp to a more helpful location.  I cleared out a set of plastic drawers that were housing extra toiletries (most of which I hadn’t used in years.  Ahem.) and filled it with sewing accoutrement – top drawer for measuring and cutting tools, middle drawer for fun things like buttons and velcro and fabric paint, and bottom drawer for iron and ball winder (which, yes, is technically for knitting, but the drawer was just so handy!).  And then I found a small dining table near the checkout at Ikea, after I had almost given up hope of finding anything that would fit in my wee corner.

The table is quite brilliant, really; it’s a narrow rectangle, but has two leaves that slide out to make a square.  With the leaves recessed, it’s the perfect width for my small space, but I can easily pull one leaf out for more surface area when I need it.  With the addition of a rack for my thread (organized by color, of course), a vintage jar full of fragrant flowers, a pretty pincushion, and a tiny box my sister painted for me in the fifth grade, this is now my favorite corner in the whole house.  I can’t wait to get to work here!

Please avert your eyes from the basket on the right. It's full of current knitting and embroidery projects that I haven't had a chance to show you yet. Soon!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 11:42 pm

    It looks just perfect, great sewing motivation for sure. 🙂

  2. Ashley permalink*
    February 2, 2011 11:11 am

    Thank you! I haven’t had a spare moment to enjoy it yet – I’m just itching to start a whole slew of projects!

  3. February 2, 2011 1:51 pm

    Your sewing corner looks great! I need to get one of those thread racks. My thread is all in a photo box right now. I should do a post on my sewing corner, also outfitted by Ikea!

Leave a Reply

