Skip to content

Aeolian Lace, Take Two

January 11, 2011
tags:

There’s been next to no knitting content on this blog lately, but that’s not because there’s been no knitting.  In  fact, there’s been quite a lot of knitting, but most of it is of the long-term (ish) sort, and none of it photographs especially well in its current crammed-on-the-needles, non-existent-winter-lighting state.  Just to prove that I haven’t abandoned my needles, I present Aeolian Lace, take two:

(Modeled, rather fetchingly – I think – by my office window.  Hey, it’s only light outside while I’m at work!)

A coworker admired the version I made for myself, the one I wear so often the poor thing is practically felted.  She’s not the scarf type herself, but had a friend with an upcoming birthday, and asked if I might be willing to knit another one – for cash.  I know it’s not kosher to sell pieces made from Knitty.com patterns, but the idea that someone would actually pay money for something I made with two sticks and a ball of yarn was really quite intoxicating.

In the end, I asked for just a smidge more than the cost of the yarn (I just had to indulge the intoxicated part of myself), but I enjoyed knitting this version (knit in Malabrigo Lace, again) just as much as the first.  More maybe, since I was familiar with the pattern and therefore not confused by the charts.

I should note that photographing a handknit shawl in the office window, while effective, was a little stressful.  I was early for work, and I knew that no one would actually mind what I was doing, but I spent the whole photo shoot terrified that someone would walk in and consider my sanity completely gone.  It might be true, but that’s not exactly the kind of thing you want to advertise to your coworkers, no matter how impeccable their taste in handknits.

Right?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 4:48 pm

    Oh my GOD that is beautiful! I didn’t know you had a blog either, Ashley! I’m definitely adding it to the top of my (too-long) blog-roll. I can’t wait to see what else you make! I’ve been tempted to get into knitting, but I’ve been feeling like I should stick to one hobby at a time. I don’t know though! Look how pretty!

    • Ashley permalink*
      January 18, 2011 1:38 pm

      One hobby at a time? Sheesh. I don’t even know what that looks like. I knit and sew quite a lot, but I also dabble in needle felting, spinning, crochet, embroidery, embossing, and some other stuff that I can’t even think of right now. I’ve always got a bunch of different projects on the move at once – I think Chris wishes that just sometimes, I’d stick with one thing and finish it before I start something new. 🙂

      And you should TOTALLY take up knitting. I’m super inspired by your sewing (wow I have a lot to learn), but knitting is so portable! I can’t bring my sewing machine on the train every day, but the knitting – the knitting fits in my purse.

  2. January 18, 2011 12:35 pm

    Very pretty! I love the color!

    • Ashley permalink*
      January 18, 2011 1:34 pm

      Thank you very much!

Trackbacks

  1. A Knitter’s Guide to Commuting | Little House in the Big World

Leave a Reply

