Skip to content

Honey Cardamom Granola

January 5, 2011
tags:

Starting the year with a batch of granola feels so goody-two-shoes, but hey – I’m kind of a goody-two-shoes, and this granola is tasty enough that it feels pretty naughty.  Crunchy, sweet, and oh-so-slightly salty, this stuff has been my favorite workday breakfast for months now.  Which is really quite something, considering that (a) I’m usually much more about hot eggs and toast than cold cereal and (b) I’ve never actually liked granola before. But this – mmmmmm.  Tossed over homemade yogurt in a mason jar and drizzled with extra honey, it’s very nice company on an early morning train ride.

I adapted the original recipe (from Gourmet, December 2008) both to better suit my tastes and to be a little easier on my wallet.  The original called for dried pears and quite a lot of sesame seeds, which I’m sure would be very tasty, but was really pushing my limit for fancy-pants ingredients.  I use dates instead of pears, which I think play very nicely off the cardamom.  I’ve also substituted chopped pecans for the original’s sliced almonds, just because I think they’re yummier and I’ve always got some on hand.  Don’t skip out on the cardamom, though – it’s an unexpected little punch that makes the $12 (!!!!!!) bottle totally worthwhile.  (You’ll only use a teaspoon here, so I’d recommend buying the smallest bottle available, if you don’t think it’s something that will become part of your regular spice rotation.  My $12 jar will make a lot of granola.)

We keep our granola in a jar on the counter, where it stays nice and crispy for as long as it hangs around – in our house, that could be anywhere from 2 days to 2 weeks.

Honey Cardamom Granola (adapted from Gourmet, December 2008)

– 3 cups rolled oats

– 1 cup coarsely chopped pecans

– 1/8 cup sesame seeds

– 6 Tbs. grapeseed or vegetable oil

– 6 Tbs. honey

– 1 tsp. ground cardamom

– 1/2 tsp. salt

– 1/2 cup pitted, coarsely chopped dates (about 4 large)

– 1/2 cup raisins (I like golden raisins.)

____

– Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a cookie sheet (the kind with 4 sides) with parchment paper, or lightly coat with oil.

– Mix oats, pecans, and sesame seeds in a large bowl; set aside.

– In a small saucepan over low heat, combine oil, honey, cardamom, and salt until heated through.

– Stir oil/honey mixture into the bowl of oats; spread mixture into prepared pan.

– Bake, stirring once, 20-25 minutes or until golden brown and toasty.

– As the granola cools, stir in chopped fruit.  By the time the granola is cool, it should be nice and crispy.

Makes enough to feed 2 of us breakfast for 4-5 days.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2012 3:31 pm

    I had a craving for this and was quite glad to find that you had indeed blogged the recipe! I have a batch in the oven now (slightly modified based on the contents of my pantry). Miss you!

Trackbacks

  1. What’s for Breakfast « Life of a Little Woman

Leave a Reply

