Skip to content

A Birthday Crown for the Birthday King

December 16, 2010
tags: ,

I have a very important project to share today.  Very important because, of course, this little guy is FIVE today:

This picture, from last Christmas, is pathetically outdated. He and his parents (my sister and her husband) are a bit far away, and I don't get to see them much.

It’s not every day a person turns FIVE, so in honor of such a special occasion, I would like to present The Birthday Crown:

This project is special not just because it’s for a special FIVE-year-old, but also because it’s one of those precious few projects that turned out exactly as I’d pictured it, on the very first try.  I followed this tutorial, printed off some star-shaped templates in different sizes, and went to town.

The stars are hand-stitched, and the “J” is (a little awkwardly) embroidered.  I machine-stitched around the edges and to make the elastic band in the back.

I sent it off in overnight mail a couple of days ago, so it should be there in time to crown the birthday king.  Happy birthday, Jitari!  You’re FIVE.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2010 11:21 pm

    Nice work, it looks fantastic. I think that would be awfully exciting for a 5yo to get in the mail 🙂

    • Ashley permalink*
      December 17, 2010 11:34 pm

      Oh, thank you so much! I hope he has as much fun wearing it as I had making it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

