Skip to content

Fingers Crossed

December 14, 2010
tags:

I tried to keep it simple this year.  Really, I did.  It’s been a busy year, and I really wanted the time to savor the holiday season.  I jettisoned the holiday party plans, the Christmas caroling idea.  I decided that while stuffing stockings for the adults in my family is really a lot of fun, maybe I could take a pass on it this year.  And I started thinking about handmade gifts months ago.

Turns out, thinking doesn’t actually get the job done.

See, nearly a year ago, I had the fabulous idea that the adults on my mom’s side of the family could each draw a name for a handmade gift exchange.  The rules are simple: nothing extravagant, but nothing just thrown together.  And handmade.  We drew names back in April, and by May I knew exactly what I was planning.  (Which, unfortunately, I can’t share with you yet, since there are still 11 days until Christmas and I don’t know who might be reading this.)  Only, I didn’t order any materials until November.  And didn’t start shopping for the remaining materials until Sunday.

Which is exactly how I ended up visiting 6 stores in 90 minutes after work today, begging salespeople for assistance, and genuinely beginning to panic.  Who knew that ivory napkins are few and far between?

In the end, I found what I needed, though the salesclerk at Bed, Bath, and Beyond didn’t understand what I was so excited about.  More details (and pictures) when Christmas is over.  For now, will somebody please pass the gluhwein?

Leave a Reply

