Skip to content

A Well-Travelled Scarf

September 16, 2010
tags:

My new scarf (Ravelry link) has seen lots of exciting places.

I dragged the yarn and pattern in my bag through London; cast on in my cousins’ living room in Heidelberg; worked the first few fiddly rows on the train across Germany and the Netherlands; finished the first chart sipping hot cocoa in an Amsterdam cafe; knit my way home across the Atlantic; and cast off in my living room here in the Bay Area.  Now it’s my go-to shield against the San Francisco summer wind and fog.

Malabrigo Lace (Ravelry link) is my new favorite yarn; it’s 100% wool, but soft enough to wear against my neck without even a little itchiness.  And yet – it’s affordable!  My post-law school budget doesn’t have the wiggle room for cashmere, but Malabrigo Lace makes a darn decent substitute.  The color (Tortuga) is also pretty fantastic; a purplish-gray, it has the decency to tend toward whatever shade complements the outfit I’m wearing at the moment.

Though the pattern (Aeolian Shawl) calls it a “shoulderette,” I wear it like a scarf, fluffed up just enough to show off some of the fabulous edging.  It’s perfect tucked inside the neck of the leather jacket Chris found me in a vintage shop in Amsterdam.

All in all, I think it’s the perfect remembrance of a perfect trip.

Photos by Lily – thanks, Lil!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2010 7:49 am

    OOOOH! I love that color! I just used Mal Lace to make myself a Wispy Cardigan, and I totally agree with you – it is amazingly soft. Definitely my new favorite yarn. I knit the Aeolian Shawlette a couple of months ago, in Madelinetosh Prairie. It was my first lace anything, and I am pretty proud of it. But, I must say, I like your color and yarn choice better… Just beautiful!

    • Ashley permalink*
      September 16, 2010 9:16 am

      Thank you! This pattern was definitely a challenge, especially in the beginning when I couldn’t see exactly where things were going. So I’m pretty proud of mine too. Yours, I must say, is just gorgeous – I love that saturated gold color!

Trackbacks

  1. Aeolian Lace, Take Two « Life of a Little Woman
  2. A Knitter’s Guide to Commuting | Little House in the Big World

Leave a Reply

