Skip to content

Spiced Maple Zucchini Muffins

July 26, 2010
tags: ,

I’ve had a vague hankering for zucchini bread for a couple of weeks, nagged along by the pile of summer squash taking over the bottom shelf of my refrigerator.  I haven’t had much time in the kitchen lately, but the zucchini bread daydream has taken on a life of its own.  So last night, finally, I got to work.

These zucchini muffins were originally inspired by the spiciness of Heidi’s zucchini bread; after reading her recipe notes, I haven’t been able to shake the thought of ginger and cloves alongside zucchini confetti.  I used whole wheat pastry flour, like Heidi did, but since I wanted something a bit heartier for an on-the-go breakfast, I substituted one cup of flour for a cup of oat bran.

To be perfectly honest, the maple came about because (horror of horrors) we’re out of sugar.  I think, however, that it lends a great depth of flavor that sugar just can’t offer.  And I decided to make muffins instead of a loaf since, given the number of mornings I have to practically sprint the half-mile to the train, a one-handed breakfast is most welcome.

I think these muffins would stand up pretty well to experimentation.  You could use all whole wheat pastry flour and leave out the oat bran, or use half regular whole wheat flour and half white flour.  You could mix up the spices or use orange zest and juice instead of lemon.  I’m pretty opposed to nuts in my baked goods, but I suppose if you were so inclined, pecans might be a nice addition too.

Me?  I think they’re best with a generous smear of apple butter.

Spiced Maple Zucchini Muffins

(Inspired by and adapted, very loosely, from 101 Cookbooks and Lemonbasil)

3 large eggs, lightly beaten

3/4 cup real maple syrup

1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled

zest and juice of 1 lemon

2 tsp. vanilla

3 cups grated zucchini (about 3 medium)

2 cups whole wheat pastry flour

1 cup oat bran

1 1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. cloves

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

– Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

– Lightly oil a muffin tin, or fill with muffin liners.

– Combine eggs, maple syrup, butter, lemon juice and zest, vanilla, and zucchini in a large mixing bowl.

– Whisk together flour, oat bran, baking soda and powder, salt, cinnamon, cloves, and ginger.

– Add dry ingredients to wet, stirring until just combined.

– Spoon into muffin tin, and bake at 350 degrees for 13-15 minutes, or until a stick inserted into the middle of a muffin comes out (mostly) clean.

– Smear with butter and maple syrup, or apple butter.  Enjoy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

