Skip to content

Just Right

April 29, 2010

This past weekend was the best blend of fun and relaxation I could have hoped for, full of lots of jokes (Many at my expense. Ahem.), lots of rest, and way too many Pringles.  Last year, I shared a little bit about my family’s annual trip to Yosemite, but we really only talked about photography.  This year, the weather was perfect for bike rides, hikes, and sitting lazily in the sunshine, but it didn’t lend itself so much to tripod-worthy moments.  So I thought I’d share with you the “behind the scenes” view – the nitty-gritty, down-and-dirty details of what family vacation means to me.

1. Going everywhere en masse.  Waterfalls, morning coffee, bike trails, you name it – we all go. (Most of the people in that picture belong to me.)

Photo by my (most excellent) cousin Shayna

2. Heights.  I don’t like ’em, but they’re unavoidable here.  Every year, I climb the trails as far as I can before I have to sit down, avoid looking around, and wait for everyone else to return and walk me down the hill.  (This year, the trail was closed due to a rockfall before I wimped out – I couldn’t have planned it better myself.)

3. Makeshift kitchenettes.  Every year, we get more and more elaborate.  Last year: teakettle.  This year: electric skillets. (These did double duty for burgers and pancakes.  We’re not ones to (completely) compromise our culinary standards just for lack of a stove!)

4. Board games. Lots of board games. Sequence is the current favorite.

5. Silliness.  Because what fun is vacation – or family – without a healthy dose of the sillies? (I, uh, hope my sister feels the same way about this photo.)

6. Awe.  Where else in the world can you wake up to a rainbow every morning?

I can’t wait to go back.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Robin permalink
    July 29, 2010 7:30 pm

    I loved this blog!

    • Ashley permalink*
      August 2, 2010 12:09 pm

      Thank you, Robin! Miss you!

Leave a Reply

