Skip to content

Welcome to Maquoketa

November 15, 2009
tags: ,

A few months ago, my large, lovable, and slightly nutty family flew to the small town in Iowa where my grandparents grew up for a family reunion.  Between the big reunion, boat rides on the river, tours of places with historic family importance, big family barbecues, and getting rapidly acquainted with dozens of awesome second cousins and great-aunts and -uncles, there wasn’t a lot of time left to take pictures of the lovely town – but I did manage to drag myself out of bed before sunrise one morning to wander around town with my camera, and I took some quick shots of interesting things here and there.  Welcome to Maquoketa.

On cousin Weezer's front porch.

My mom’s first cousin Louise (Weezer) has a great, quirky house.  My mom and sister and I stayed there, at the top of the steepest flight of stairs I’ve ever climbed.  Her front porch is full of plants, Harley Davidson memorabilia, and this really, really cool trunk.

More of the very cool trunk

It seems like everyone in Maquoketa grows tomatoes, and everyone has home-canned tomatoes on their pantry shelves.  (More about canning in future posts!)  These lovely green ones were in my Aunt Jan’s backyard.

My Aunt Sandy has the neatest front door ever.  If I could have any front door in the world, this is the one I’d want.  Aunt Sandy, you’d better keep an eye on that door.

Maquoketa at sunrise is a beautiful thing.  It’s silent and deserted.  The lawns are bright green and lush, and the houses are all white.  The buildings downtown are 19th century brick, and gave me a serious case of the itchy shutter finger.

I can’t wait to go back.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lily permalink
    November 15, 2009 5:00 pm

    Gorgeous! Can’t wait to hear more about the trip!!

    • Mom permalink
      November 15, 2009 5:56 pm

      Ashley, I love the pics and the commentary. It has left me wanting more! I’m so happy that you, Chelsea and Jesse were able to see this amazing town and surrounding area and meet and reunite with many of your beautiful and loving family members. Memories abound! Thank you, thank you, thank you to your wonderful Grandmother!

  2. The Little Woman permalink
    November 16, 2009 4:20 pm

    Thanks, guys! And thank you thank you thank you Grandma!

  3. knittingprettyindc permalink
    December 14, 2009 8:26 am

    These are beautiful pictures my friend! The color in the last one are especially dazzling!

Trackbacks

  1. Unsweetened Apple Butter « Life of a Little Woman

Leave a Reply

