Skip to content

How I Survived the California Bar Exam*

September 11, 2009
tags: ,

Have you ever had the experience of legitimately putting something off because something else was massively more pressing, but when the Very Pressing Thing was over, feeling too overwhelmed by the Put-Off Thing to resume?  Well, that’s what’s been happening around these parts:

Very Pressing Thing 1: California Bar Exam.  Brutal.  Hope I never have to do it again.  Won’t know until November 20 at 6 pm.  Only sort of counting down.

Very Pressing Thing 2: Moving.  I am no longer a San Francisco resident – Chris and I now live a bit south of the city, in the absolutely wonderful City of San Mateo.

Very Pressing Thing 3: Starting my first real job.  I am now a real, honest-to-goodness lawyer (not an attorney – I won’t be until I’m admitted by the State Bar of California), working for a non-profit.  Long hours, great people, important work.  Good stuff.

Put-Off Thing: Um, that would be this blog.  Sorry, guys.  The good news is that I’ve stored up lots of blog fodder!  The bad news is that I haven’t written any of it down, so it’s anyone’s guess how much of it I’ll remember. (You can’t win ’em all, right?)

So first thing’s first.  I have lots of people and things to thank for getting me through (and putting up with my crabbiness and generally doing me lots of favors during) my excruciating 2 1/2 months of bar prep, moving, and starting work, but the two things of interest here are:

Thing of Interest 1: Toast with Cream Cheese, Fried Egg, Tomato, and Basil (or Rosemary)

Mmmmmmmmm

Mmmmmmmmm

I am only a recent convert to the way of the cream cheese, so this tasty little morsel was especially exciting for me.  However, Lily is a long-time cream cheese lover, and we both practically lived on this for a couple of weeks toward the end, so I have a firm faith in its universal appeal.  Yummy.  Quick.  Proteinous.

Thing of Interest 2: Lady Eleanor  Entrelac Stole

Lily had the brilliant idea of a bar-study knit-along – something not too boring, but brainless enough to knit on during bar lectures, and something that would take the whole summer to complete.  With the help of the good people on the Ravelry forums, we settled on the Lady Eleanor Entrelac Stole (Ravelry link) from Scarf Style.  Lily got tired of hers pretty quickly, but it turned out to be the perfect summer project for me.  I’m still plugging away on it, since I’m using fingering-weight yarn and size 3 needles, but the end is in sight!  I think it’ll be the perfect thing to wrap around my shoulders in my sometimes very chilly office.

I’ve got more to tell you, but it’ll have to wait for now.  I’ll be back!
*Thanks to Lily for the inspiration for this post

One Comment leave one →
  1. knittingprettyindc permalink
    September 14, 2009 5:46 am

    Yay! At least it’s over! And I’m sure you did grand. The stole looks lovely. I got bored with entrelac during my project, but at first I found it very addictive!

Leave a Reply

