Skip to content

Anyone have dishes to wash?

June 3, 2009
tags:

As it turns out, studying for the bar exam is time consuming and energy-sucking.  Who’d have thought?*  All this frantic memorization of contracts/torts/criminal procedure/etc. leaves me not much time for the good stuff.  Case in point: knitting.  Therefore, meet my new best friend.

The garter stitch dishcloth.

I’m still plugging along on a couple of other projects, but I badly needed something portable and entirely mindless to keep my hands busy during the 4- (and occasionally 8) hour lectures I’m attending everyday.  My friend Lily, who is also currently studying for the bar exam, suggested a bar-study knit-along, but we haven’t had a spare moment to come up with a good project.**  In a moment of desperation, I grabbed one of my many, many balls of worsted-weight cotton and some size-6 needles and cast on, and I haven’t stopped since.

I’m not totally sure what I’m going to do with the resulting mountain of dishcloths, since my own kitchen drawers are already stuffed with them.

Anyone need a dishcloth?

* Just in case anyone’s confused, I am being facetious.  Obviously I knew approximately what I was getting into.  It’s just a bit more… frenetic than I’d anticipated.  You can’t really appreciate the madness until you’ve seen the assignment schedule – not a single day off between mid-May and the end of July.

** Lily is coming to visit this weekend, and we’ve already planned a trip to Imagiknit.  Hopefully, my next “Brainless Bar Study Knitting” post will be a little more interesting.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lily permalink
    June 10, 2009 11:46 am

    😀

    Getting shout outs in your blog always makes me feel special! Also, now I really want to make some dishcloths! 🙂

Leave a Reply

