Skip to content

I Totally Called It.

May 20, 2009
tags:

Let’s get something straight: I don’t like snakes.  I didn’t grow up with them, rarely see them, and while I know and appreciate that they keep us from being overrun by rodents, they pretty much freak me out.  I don’t even like seeing one on on the computer or TV screen. 

I’m visiting my sister right now, the one who lives on an organic farm in Southern California, and wildlife is sort of a fact of life here.  Birds, bees, and yes, snakes – though I’ve been lucky enough to have never seen one on my visits.  That all changed this morning, though, when I discovered an enormous coachwhip snake (which I’ve been assured are not dangerous) slithering across the patio.  My brother-in-law, Bo, and my three-year-old nephew thought it would be an excellent idea to catch the thing and hold it in a terrarium to show visitors – I cowered inside while they wrestled it into the tank. 

The snake sat in the terrarium for a couple of hours, after which Bo and his dad decided it should probably go free.  They carried it out to the driveway, while I followed anxiously asking them to make sure it didn’t go into my car, which was parked out front.  They both laughed, said there’s no way that would ever happen, and told me I shouldn’t worry.  They released the snake, which sped off – guess where?

That’s right.  Straight up into the undercarriage of my car.

And now it won’t come out.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lily permalink
    May 20, 2009 4:16 pm

    oh my god!! Keep all of us out here in internet-land posted about how it turns out!

    (To better sympathize with how you must be feeling, I kept replacing “snake” with “big hairy spider.” I would totally be cowering in a corner without the presence of mind to blog.)

  2. May 21, 2009 10:48 am

    oh noes!

  3. May 23, 2009 6:50 pm

    O boy! A new pet! What will you name him?

  4. Shayna permalink
    May 29, 2009 8:27 pm

    amazing story someone else likes it to. Do you know who this is? BOB SAGET!!!

    • The Little Woman permalink
      May 30, 2009 7:34 am

      Shayna! You are too funny! I was so confused when I read your comment until I saw your name – no one but you would write that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

