Skip to content

Most Beautiful Mittens

May 2, 2009
tags:

A couple of weeks ago, I posted about a common knitterly dillema – what to knit now?  Since I needed something portable, my options were several varieties of gloves/arm warmers/mittens.  Pretty much as soon as I saw the pattern, though, I was sold on Bella’s Mittens – they were just so perfect for my roommate, Brynn (who loves Twilight the way I love cheese and yarn and bedtime), that I had to make them immediately.

It turned out to be a great choice – they knit up so fast that they practically made themselves, and they were interesting and semi-mindless at the same time.  Also, she loved them; she thinks “they’re the most beautiful mittens she’s ever seen.”  A direct quote.

PS – An update.

1. I will have pictures of my newest Hemlock Ring for you very soon.

2. The blood red yarn I had considered turning into the Knotty Gloves is now becoming the Yummy Mummy Wristwarmers (Ravelry link) instead, at the Brynn’s request.  I think I’m going to get more of the same yarn to make a pair of Knotty Fingerless Gloves for myself though, since I might be in love.

3. Still waiting on the rest of the yarn to make the Evangeline Armwarmers (another Rav link) for my supervisor at work.

4. Posts are fewer and farther between at the moment because I am in the middle of my LAST. FINALS. EVER.  Two weeks from tomorrow I will no longer be a student.  Yikes.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lily permalink
    May 2, 2009 9:59 am

    I managed to make a pair of knotty wristwarmers out of a single 50gr skein of dk weight yarn on size 5s. I knit them from both ends of the ball simultaneously so I would know exactly when to stop without running out of yarn. They’re more like mitts than fingerless gloves b/c the fingers aren’t differentiated–I just did a couple rows of stockinette and like 8 rows of ribbing after putting the thumb gusset on st holders and then bound off.

    Mostly I just wanted to share that little bit of knitterly economizing b/c I was kind of proud of it 😉

    • The Little Woman permalink
      May 2, 2009 10:54 am

      Awesome. I’ll use you as inspiration! Pictures on Ravelry? Please?

      • Lily permalink
        May 3, 2009 12:49 pm

        ok, ok, you’ve got me. I am finally (finally!!) going to put pictures on ravelry of everything I’ve been neglecting for I don’t want to think how long. I apologize if they suck — the natural light situation in my apartment is kind of dire, especially when it’s rainy like today.

  2. May 6, 2009 5:51 am

    Those really are some beautiful mittens.

    • The Little Woman permalink
      May 6, 2009 7:46 am

      Thank you, Stephanie – I’m having a star-struck moment, but it’s totally an honor to see you here.

Leave a Reply

