Skip to content

Clearing Storm In Yosemite

April 28, 2009
tags:

My dad always talks about how “bad” weather is the best for nature photography, but my photography opportunities are extremely limited by my busy law student schedule, so I’m usually pretty much stuck with whatever the weather’s doing when I’ve got free time.

Last weekend was my family’s annual trip to Yosemite (my favorite place on the whole earth), and boy, did I get lucky – the last few years have been brilliantly warm and sunny, but last Friday, I was gifted with a drizzly, lightly rainy, foggy day.  And I have never seen the park look more beautiful.

Fun with my macro lens.  I really, really love the raindrops.

Fun with my macro lens. I really, really love the raindrops.

One of the best things about being out with my camera on that “dreary” day was the sheer solitude – everyone else was huddled by their campfires or in their hotel rooms, while I tramped around in hat, coat, gloves, scarf, and long underwear.  I got thoroughly soaked, but it was totally worth it.  (And, thanks to the handknit wool gloves, hat, and scarf I was wearing, I was actually relatively warm.)

When the storm started to clear, I hightailed it up to Tunnel View, the most popular place to get panoramic views of the park.

El Capitan

It was raining in the valley, but it was cold enough that there was snow at just slightly higher elevations.  You can see here where the snow level ends:

And here, the clouds clear away from the tops of the cliffs surrounding the valley:

Just think – if I’d stayed inside where it was warm and cozy (not to mention dry), I would have missed the beauty of the storm, the peaceful solitude of the valley, and some seriously fun shooting.

Bridalveil Fall

PS – My only regret is that the storm didn’t start clearing about 45 minutes later – by the time sunset rolled around, the clouds were gone and we had very clear (and very cold) blue skies.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2009 4:12 pm

    Terrific photos. Good luck.

  2. wildstorm permalink
    April 28, 2009 4:28 pm

    Beautiful images.

  3. April 28, 2009 5:17 pm

    Nice macro.

  4. April 30, 2009 5:23 am

    I like the flower with the water drops.

    The views and landscape look like something from Lord of the Rings or Narnia.

    Very cool stuff!

Trackbacks

  1. Ten Things « Life of a Little Woman
  2. Just Right « Life of a Little Woman

Leave a Reply

