Skip to content

Now What?

April 16, 2009
tags:

I’ve almost finished the Hemlock Ring blanket (after finally following Christi’s advice and putting stitch markers between each repeat, it’s been much less painful), and find myself without any projects waiting in the wings.  Well, technically, I’ve got several projects staring me down from the stash pile, but I haven’t started any of them yet.  A couple of them are just yarn and an amorphous idea, waiting to be matched with a pattern.

This is the part of knitting I hate.  Paralyzation in the face of overwhelming possibility.

I know I want to work on something small and portable, since I’ll be out of town for both of the next two weekends – I need something that’s good for car knitting.  Therefore, the Seascape Stole I have planned in Malabrigo Lace for my grandma’s 75th birthday (which, um, was last December…) will have to bide its time a while longer.

My last day at my internship is tomorrow, and for a while now I’ve been jonesing to make a set of arm warmers/fingerless gloves as a thank you to my supervisor, who is absolutely amazing.  She’s kind of like me (as in, born in the wrong century), so I was thinking that these might fit the bill: Evangeline, by Michelle Szeghalmi.  I’d like to make them a bit shorter than what’s pictured there – this is, after all, California.  I had pictured them in the Ella Rae Silkience I won in  Christi’s very first blog giveaway a few months ago, but this morning I discovered I only had one skein.  Yikes!  After a little hard-core Googling, I was able to order a couple more, but I won’t be able to get far on these until my order arrives.  Not to mention that I’m not sure what I’ll do if I knit my way through this skein, only to discover that the dyelots of the new skeins are wildly different.  Huh.  Think I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

The other possibility on the horizon is a set of gloves/armwarmers/mitten-topped gloves for my roomate.  That’s right – I don’t know what she wants, aside from something to cover her hands.  I’ve got the yarn (Cascade Heritage Sock Yarn in a gorgeous blood-red colorway), but no direction.  She’s usually pretty elegant, and has a very Irish background, so I’m leaning towards these.

The Knotty Gloves by Julia Mueller.  Again, I think I’d make the cuff a little shorter, only because I’m not sure I’d have enough yarn otherwise, but I abosolutley love the cable knot on the wrist.  It would be a pretty simple thing to make these fingerless, or with little stubby cut-off fingers, depending on what she wants.

These, however, are also very pretty: Merletto Mitts, by Jody Scofield

Finally, there’re these:  Bella’s Mittens, by Marielle Henault.  They’re totally inappropriate both for the yarn I have and for the increasingly warm San Francisco spring, but these might just have to be it.  You see, my roomate is OBSESSED with Twilight.  (No.  She’s not 13.  She’s actually a master’s student, and since she’s gotten me a bit obsessed as well, y’all can keep your Twilight-hatin’ comments to yourselves. :))

Guess I’ll be stash-diving for some worsted weight…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2009 9:41 am

    Ok a coupla things:

    1) I have about 30 more yards of silkience left over if you want it. Lemme know.

    2) I’m glad the stitch markers worked out.

    3) I have some advice for the paralyzation part. You could just be like me. Start projects constantly. Have at least 7 WIPs going at all times. Hibernate projects as you see fit, then returning to them later when you regain momentum. My ideal project distribution goes a bit like this: at least one pair of socks or similarly portable project going at all times, although probably mroe like 2. At least one mindless project for knitting while talking. At least one complex concentration requiring project for when I’m bored. Also it’s good to challenge yourself. One big project (which in reality often doesn’t get worked on much). And then a few scattered others. This system works. I swear. Although it won’t make you stop buying yarn. It might actually get you to buy more. So there are side effects.

  2. The Little Woman permalink
    April 16, 2009 9:54 am

    Thanks, Christi! I’ll let you know if I need the Silkience – I ordered 2 skeins, so that should be enough. It’s probably not worth the shipping unless I get really desperate. I’ll keep you posted. 🙂
    As for your advice – well, I think that would be an excellent approach if I (1) had any income whatsoever to support a yarn habit (sad Ashley) and (2) had the brainpower to keep a whole bunch of different patterns straight. Maybe both of those things will be possible in a couple months, but for now, I think trying to work on more than one (MAYBE two) projects at once would send my feeble little brain into a tailspin – I’d wind up putting fingers on a pair of socks or accidentally knitting a scarf section into a blanket. That way lies madness. 🙂

  3. Lily permalink
    April 16, 2009 10:39 am

    My feelings about Twilight aside, I’m just not a fan of the Bella’s Mittens. They’re cute, but they’re just sort of … boring. They look like the kind of faux-handknit you could pick up at Urban Outfitters.

    The Knotty Gloves, on the other hand, are GORGEOUS! And they would be so so beautiful in that red sock yarn. Seriously, don’t fight fate on this one. (Also, I always love patterns that use ribbing and cables for subtle shaping instead of increases and decreases. So elegant and functional!)

    Good luck choosing! Miss you!

    • The Little Woman permalink
      April 16, 2009 10:48 am

      I sort of agree about Bella’s Mittens – I think they’re cute, and I like them (especially the Twilight connection), but they’re not blow-your-mind gorgeous. I’d definitely wear them, though. 🙂
      The Knotty gloves did steal my heart, and I’ll probably make those for Brynn too, since Bella’s Mittens should be a quick knit. I think I’ll also make a fingerless pair for myself at some point, probably in the same red yarn, which I’m totally coveting.

  4. Maris permalink
    April 17, 2009 9:36 pm

    Beautiful! I love to knit and I wish I was half as good as you are!

Trackbacks

  1. Most Beautiful Mittens « Life of a Little Woman

Leave a Reply

