Skip to content

Seriously? SERIOUSLY?

April 10, 2009
tags:

A few months ago, I was desperate to try out my brand-spanking-new DSLR (a birthday-Christmas-graduation gift from my dad and stepmom) on some nature subjects, but I was stuck in the city, so I drove out to Ocean Beach at sunset.  I’d only been there as a spectator, not as a photographer, but it’s a very nice spot and I thought I might get something nice with the sun sinking into the ocean. HA!

I’d forgotten that everyone else in San Francisco also thinks that Ocean Beach is a very nice spot, and the place was completely overrun with tourists, local joggers, dogs, surfers, and kids.  I stopped a moment, considered that I’d already driven out there and, with the sun sinking quickly, probably didn’t have time to find someplace else, and gamely shouldered my tripod.

After a little wandering, I found this perfect sand dollar, just waiting for me in the wet sand:

Granted, this is pretty much a terrible picture, but I still wasnt used to my camera, Im a photography novice, and I only got to take one shot.  Bear with me.

Granted, this is pretty much a terrible picture, but I wasn't used to my camera, I'm a photography novice, and I only got to take one shot. Bear with me.

I liked the lines the receeding waves made in the wet sand, leading out of the frame (and I REALLY liked that with the shot tightly focused, you couldn’t tell how many people were sharing the beach with me), so I hunkered down in the sopping wet sand, set up my tripod, and got to work.  I was nearly right on top of this sand dollar, lens obviously focused on it, and had taken exactly ONE shot (the icky, over-exposed, boring one you see above), when a pair of shoes appeared in my frame.  I looked up as a woman’s voice said, “Oh – sorry.”  And then (and this is the real kicker), she bent down and *picked up* the sand dollar I was obviously taking a picture of.  I stared at her, completely aghast, as she walked off with it, but she didn’t seem to notice.  Seriously?  Seriously?
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

