Skip to content

Meyer Lemonade

March 27, 2009
tags: ,

My sister, who I visited over spring break, lives on an organic avocado and orange farm in Southern California.

(Let’s take a moment to let the jealousy pass.)

Anyway, they also have a bumper crop of Meyer lemons this year, and I was fortunate enough to share their bounty.  By which I mean, the first thing my brother-in-law said to me when I walked in the door was, “I’m so glad you’re here.  We have so many lemons!”  Let’s just say I was very happy to take some off their hands.

I came home with two big grocery bags of lemons, and I’m proud to report that only one has gone to waste.  The rest have been ruthlessly juiced into ice cube trays, salad dressing, and this heavenly Meyer lemonade.

See my new toy?  Its called a citrus reamer, which I think sounds delightfully... wrong.  Also its a very effective juicer, and the only easy-to-clean juicing implement Ive seen.

See my new toy? It's called a "citrus reamer," which I think sounds delightfully... wrong. Also it's a very effective juicer, and the only easy-to-clean juicing implement I've seen.

A warning: this tastes different from traditional lemonade, because Meyer lemons are actually a cross between a lemon and a mandarin orange, and are therefore sweeter than other lemons .  I think it tastes better, but it is different.

Ingredients:

1 10-12 cup (80-96 oz. – right?) pitcher

4.5 cups water

1 cup granulated sugar

4 cups Meyer lemon juice (somewhere around 15 lemons), strained to remove excess pulp and seeds

– Combine the sugar and one cup of water in a small saucepan over medium-t0-low heat.  Stir occasionally, until all of the sugar is dissolved – voilà!  Syrup.  Remove from heat and allow to cool.  (I’m impatient, so I added ice cubes at this stage.  If you do this, add less water in the next step.)

– Combine lemon juice and remaining 3.5 cups of water in the pitcher – if you like your lemonade on the tart/strong side, add less water.  Add cooled syrup and stir.  Easy!

Alternative Serving Suggestions:

– Fruity Lemonade: Mix 2 parts lemonade to 1 part iced fruit tea. (This is tea made with fruit – not black tea with fruit flavoring.  Though I suspect that would be tasty as well.)  I’ve been enjoying a strawberry-kiwi variety, but blackberry/raspberry tea is more widely available and just as tasty.  To ice your tea, either brew it regular strength and allow to cool, or brew extra strong and add ice cubes.  Adding ice to regular-strength tea will make it weak and yucky.  (Not that you needed me to tell you that.  But I’m almost a lawyer and therefore feel compelled to cover all my bases.)

– Minty Lemonade: Add about a teaspoon of sugar to an empty glass, throw in a handful of fresh mint leaves (I used spearmint from my herb garden) and muddle with a wooden spoon.  Fill glass with lemonade.  You might want to add a little water at this point, if the extra sugar has made things too sweet for your taste.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lily permalink
    March 28, 2009 5:43 pm

    I second Ash’s different-but-better assessment of this lemonade. The danger here is that regular lemonade just might never seem good enough again. But I think it’s a risk worth taking.

Trackbacks

  1. Lavender Lemonade « Life of a Little Woman

Leave a Reply

