Skip to content

Refreshing Simplicity

March 26, 2009
tags:

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how our culture paints being healthy as so much work.  I actually saw a commercial for fiber powder a while back proclaiming, “We know how difficult it can be to eat five servings of fruits and vegetables every day!”  I’ve noticed that much more often that I would like, I fall short of that five serving minimum.  And I’m a vegetarian!  The thing is – why?  Why is it so hard to eat fruits and vegetables?  To eat whole grains instead of Wonderbread?  Really, the good stuff tastes better.  It doesn’t have to take a long time to prepare.  And we’d gain a lot less weight if we ate fewer foods with “Nutrition Facts” stamped on the back.*  I think we’ve been trained to think that eating healthfully is a burden – which, when you think about it, is a good thing, since thinking is something we can change.  Anyway, Mark Bittman always has interesting things to say about food, and this article is no exception.  Check it out.

*Disclaimer: I like healthy eating.  But I REALLY like pasta with cream sauces, and have been known to eat an entire bag of Cool Ranch Doritos in one or two sittings.  I do not want to live a life in which desert every night is an apple.  Just in the interests of full disclosure.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

