Skip to content

A Week In My Kitchen: ‘Fessing Up Edition

February 17, 2012

Kale and Eggs

Hi.  It’s been a little while since I last told you about my menus and budget.  Long story short, I’ve had some bigger stuff (!!) than my budget on my mind, which means I’ve fallen back into some old habits.  But while I was sticking to my budget of $40 per week, I learned a few things.  Most important is that while I had thought that I shop and cook only for myself, that’s actually not true.  Somehow, I managed to forget that though my food choices are very different from Chris’s, we actually do share a meal a couple of times a week.  Add to that the times I (happily) share with our roommate or invite friends for dinner, and $40 suddenly doesn’t go very far.  Sharing food with the people I care about is so very important to me, and a “No! You can’t have any soup because I’ll go over my budget!” approach just feels… wrong.  That said, a budget is essential — I just need to do a little more thinking about what an appropriate budget for me is.

But moving on — here’s what’s been happening on my kitchen this week:

::delicious green smoothies and soft boiled eggs in my egg cups from Amsterdam, or sauteed kale with garlic and egg, for breakfast

::huge salads, complete with grated beets and carrots, baked tofu, and feta cheese at lunch

::quinoa. I owe my sister thanks for talking me out of my quinoa fear, and now I can’t get enough of it. This week’s version is creamy and vegetabley and belly-filling. (I used cremini mushrooms, leeks, broccoli, and peas.)

::broccoli soup. I think I’ve shared my love for the broccoli soup from Apples for Jam before, but really. It’s on the menu at least once a month. There’s a similar recipe here.

::fast mac and cheese. Have I sent you here before? This is brilliant – homemade mac and cheese that tastes enough like what’s in the blue box that Chris will happily eat a huge bowl. Except it’s made with cheese you grate yourself (no strange powder in sight!), and I have all the ingredients on hand. (Scroll all the way to the bottom for the recipe – but read the rest of the post for more detail.)

::honey herb soda. Makes me want to marry my Soda Stream. (Sorry, Chris.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 12, 2012 9:47 am

    So this morning while I was making breakfast I remembered your egg and kale idea. I tried it and it was really good, thanks :D!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers

